Please send a reply to this post. Some phrasal verbs are intransitive. phrasal verb meaning example sentence; ask somebody out: invite on a date: Brian asked Judy out to dinner and a movie. Example: When Jack grows up he wants to be a fireman. So, make out is another way to say kissing, but it generally infers kissing that’s very heavy. If you want to be fluent in English, then you need to know phrasal verbs! Use this list when you don't understand what the phrasal verbs means. Example: The company checks out all new employees. Example: I dropped out of Science because it was too difficult. 120 common phrasal verbs frequently used in daily English conversations with meaning and examples. Example: I went after my dream and now I am a published writer. Example: You should get up and give the elderly man your seat. We are looking forward to our holiday / it. Learn read over meaning, read off …. A phrasal verb is a verb plus a preposition or adverb which creates a meaning different from the original verb. Don’t put up with bad behaviour / … A phrasal verb is a verb like pick up, turn on or get on with. Sometimes, a verb is combined with an adverb AND preposition for a whole new meaning. Grammar - Tenses and Verb Forms - Phrasal Verbs (beginner A2): Descriptive examples, helpful explanations and varied exercises for immediate application - Learning English Online Meaning: To try; Example: I put a lot of work into the speech. Would love your thoughts, please comment. Type C. Verb plus adverb and preposition Type C phrasal verbs are a combination of the two previous kinds of verb. They are the principles that he lives by. Example: My sister got back at me for stealing her shoes. … Example: The prisoners broke out of jail when the guards weren’t looking. Example: My boyfriend didn’t want to go to the ballet, but he finally gave in. Example: I might drop in/by/over for tea sometime this week. In English grammar, a phrasal verb is composed of two or three words – One verb is